Research and Reading

I’m a researcher by profession and, I have to admit, by habit. The first thing I do when I want to find out about somewhere or about something is turn to books, to the web, to stories, the news, texts. I have, of course, bought a couple of books to get me in the mood for this adventure, to get the ‘Australia, here we come’ juices going (That phrase sounds revolting, but you get what I mean!).

So far I have tried to limit myself. After all, when I was offered the job it was nearly a whole year of waiting to be done before take off.

oz-books

Admittedly, I did have the Lonely Planet guide from a previous trip to Australia just over a year ago, but I have become more studious in my approach to it in recent musings. This is perhaps silly given that of all the books it is the one that caters most to the tourist. And we will be navigating both some tourist things and some… ‘living there’ things. Vicky Gray’s book is more useful for the latter- its based around her experiences of emigrating to Australia for good. This is still different from our plans but you never know! Bryson’s book is perhaps my favourite. In fact I credit this one with a (still ongoing period of) Bryson mania. I’ll probably go into it in more detail at some point but suffice to say it made me significantly more excited about the move, although he is pretty nonplussed about Canberra (more on which later).

Leave a Reply

